Skip to main content

How do I create a board?

How to get started with building a learning environment

This article will provide you with a step-by-step guide to creating a board in Claned. You'll learn how to set up the title, description, progress tracking, cover and background pictures, and how to save the board. By following these instructions you'll be able to create your own boards in no time.

Note that this feature may only be available to admins, depending on how user roles and permissions are configured in your organization.


1. Go to My boards and click on "Create a board"


2. Give your board a title and a description

  • All boards in Claned need at least a title before they can be created. It's a good idea to give it an easily recognizable title. You can always come back and edit these details at a later date.

  • Use the description to tell learners what the course is about, what they will know or be able to do upon completing the course, what's expected of them, important dates and times, and so on. If there is a grading structure then explain it. If there is an instructor or other support available, include their contact details.


3. Check board settings

  • Hide learners from each other on this board
    You may want to hide learners if you do now want them to see each other's names in the Overview tab. (A good idea e.g. if the board is visited by a large number of learners over a longer period, and the board doesn't feature any peer interaction.)

  • Enable progress tracking on this board
    Track progress to see where your learners are at in their studies

  • Activate board chat
    Activate chat if you want learners to be able to discuss and communicate within the board


4. Add Cover and Background pictures

Click the edit picture button to add images from your computer.

Board cover picture – The small image decorating the board's tile on the landing page.

Background picture – The larger image inside the board, filling the space behind the board title and above the board tabs.



5. Configure the board's sharing settings

You can share the board immediately, or leave it as private until you're ready to invite learners or other collaborators to take part in it.

  • Private – The default setting. A private or Personal board is visible only to the board's owner, i.e. its creator. (To reassign a board's owner, please contact [email protected])

  • Shared – You can decide who else is allowed to access your board. See our instructions for board sharing HERE


6. Advanced: Configure board extensions

You can add board extensions if you want to gather additional details through API.


7. Click on "Save" and start building your board

You can return later to edit the board's settings at your convenience by clicking the "Edit board" button to the right of the board tabs.

Did this answer your question?